Possessions Are Fleeting

Would you care for some Chai and Glass Shard Tea?

Would you care for some Chai and Glass Shard Tea?

Have you ever thought about how everything you own or love could be taken away in the blink of an eye? I’ve thought about that a lot lately. I was watching Chuck, a show I’m binge-watching on Netflix, and Chuck almost died, and you saw how his girlfriend was reacting. So naturally, I thought about my own boyfriend dying. We’ve been dating for a year and I seriously can’t imagine a day without him. He makes life fun. You know? And I know it’s morbid, but you can’t really help it when you’re watching such an emotional episode of a show. You get sucked in and connect to it in some way! 

But this post isn’t about death. It’s about how I’ve been putting so much worth into my possessions. I’ve bought some really awesome stuff lately. Things I’ve wanted for a long time. And I LOVE them. I found 6 Piko tunics for $45 (Retail price would have been $200) and a glass tea tumbler that was a dream come true. In the course of 6 hours, my Pikos shrunk in the wash because the delicate cycle of the Nutt Hall washing machine is broken and my tumbler shattered on the ground when it tipped over pathetically. 

At first, I was so mad. And upset. And I almost cried. But then I started to think… And then I laughed out loud. Of course this would happen. Why wouldn’t it? These material possessions, so delicate and easily broken and messed up, did exactly that. They either broke or messed up. Why am I so attached to these things I own? I can’t seem to grasp my obsession with cool new things, especially when I find them for cheap. But I’m convinced that it happened so I could have this epiphany. 

About chall29

Photographer from Northwest Arkansas pursuing degrees in Print Journalism and Speech Communication at Arkansas Tech University.
This entry was posted in Blog Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

