Cheaper Than Real Therapy

Art Therapy… I didn’t realize this was a thing until I realized it was my stress reliever. It all started at the end of last semester. I had bought some canvases and paint the week before, but wasn’t feeling it. So I stashed it away and went on with my life. But that night, my old roommate and her boyfriend were having a screaming match on the phone. Let me tell you, I hated that guy. He was awful to her. Instead of getting involved, I took out a canvas, a plethora of paint colors, and painted away. I had no idea what I was doing! But in the end, I created one of my most favorite paintings. If I tried it again right now, I would butcher it. 

I’m not sure why, but the only time I can paint or draw well is when I’m angry or upset. Take the photo above, for example. If you’ve read my past blog post about Instagram, you’ll know the story of when I hung out with a huge group of Instagramers. I was furious after I hung out with them, and the next day I spent three hours cooling off by creating a little 4×6 drawing. I’ve tried to recreated it for a friend, but I just can’t do it! It looks like a 12 year old did it. 

When I draw, it takes a long time. I’m a full blown perfectionist. So spending such a long amount of time on something gives me plenty of time to work through my feelings. It really is, in a way, like I’m seeing a therapist. I have some pretty cool epiphanies when I let myself think long enough.

I live in a dorm room with two full walls of windows, and I’ve created a section where I tape up all my small drawings. I’m quite certain it will be full by the end of the year! My favorite thing about art therapy is that I can take all these negative feelings and turn them into something beautiful.

About chall29

Photographer from Northwest Arkansas pursuing degrees in Print Journalism and Speech Communication at Arkansas Tech University.
This entry was posted in Blog Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

