24 Hour Technology Detox

Let me start off by saying that this was really hard. My boyfriend lives three hours away and so the only way I talk to him is through technology. (Side note: I can’t imagine dating long distance when all you could do is write letters…)

I started off at 11 am on Tuesday, right after my Physical Science class. I use my laptop to take notes in that class and wouldn’t be using it until your class at 11 the next day. I had a break from 11 to 12 after Science, so I went back to my room and took a nap. There is no such thing as too many naps in a day, especially when you’re double majoring and have a job. 

I got my roommate to wake me up before choir, and we walked together. I hadn’t talked to Nathan yet and it was bothering me. He’s my best friend so it’s like something was missing. I wasn’t missing social media or anything. Just talking to him.

I had choir and then Spanish back to back, and then I had a 40 minute break before my science lab. I read for Anthropology! We’re reading this book, along with our textbook, called Wisdom from a Rainforest and it rocks. I love anthropology, so this book is my cup of tea. I went to my lab which lasted until 5 and it was really…really tedious. I felt like I was in an elementary lab class. I’m sure it’ll get hard later, but this first lab was long and boring.

My roommate and I have lab at the same time, so we went to eat at the caf afterwards. We spent probably an hour there talking to some friends. We got back to our room and I was so bored. I wanted to watch my Netflix binge show: Chuck. It’s the stinkin’ best! I think I’ve probably mentioned it before. Anyway, I couldn’t watch it. And I was really annoyed… Chuck is what I do when I am just relaxing in my room. I convinced my roommate to go hammocking with me at the Nutt trees, so we did that for quite a while, just relaxing and talking. It got really dark, so we went inside. Not talking to Nathan was eating me up. This past summer he spent 18 days in Ireland with little to no wifi and 4 weeks in Ecuador with a few hours of wifi a day, so I was somewhat used to not talking to him, but it still was really dumb. Because this was an assignment, not another country. I’ll admit. I was a little annoyed with you, Reeder. 

I rarely use my microwave, so I didn’t have a problem with that. But not being able to use my electric tea kettle for my nightly tea was a let down…

I played Uno with my roommate and our two friends on our hall. Uno is by far my favorite card game. I get really competitive, so I only played a few games and went back to my room.

One of our friends had given me a book called “Captivating” to read. I’ve been wanting to read it for years, but never had the time. I started the first chapter, and I love it so much! I’m about to read it again after I post this!

I did break the 24 hour detox once. And it was because I had to wake up at 7:00 to go to work, and there was no way I could wake up naturally from that and I wasn’t going to make my roommate wake up then so she could get me up. So I set my alarm and went to bed.

I work at Textbook Brokers and obviously used technology for that, but that wasn’t against the rules. Can I just say how awful it is to work at 7:30 in the morning? My brain doesn’t work that early…

I worked until 10:30 and then walked back to campus (I don’t have a car). I went to Baztech for some coffee and headed to your class! At 11, my 24 hours was up and I used my laptop to take notes, per usual. 

Needless to say, I was excited to talk to Nathan again! We Skyped.

About chall29

Photographer from Northwest Arkansas pursuing degrees in Print Journalism and Speech Communication at Arkansas Tech University.
This entry was posted in Blog Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

