From Subpar to Extraordinary: Part 3

Choir - my favorite part of college.

Choir – my favorite part of college.

The past two weeks, I have written about work ethic and success. But what all this boils down to is one thing: what is the point of college?

In our generation, it’s strange to not go to college. As a senior in high school, you’re asked countless times what college you’ll attend and what you’ll be majoring in. If you answer, “Oh, I’m not going to college” or “I’m taking a year off to figure out life”, you’ll get disapproving looks. Not going to college is associated with a long-term employment at a fast food joint. No college degree means no success. But as I’ve argued the past two weeks, proper work ethic and determination can lead to success without a degree.

Don’t twist my words, I do think college is important. I mean, I’m here! Some careers require a college degree and others don’t. But if you don’t need a degree to do what you want to do, then why go? Why not gain experience outside of school and work your way up?

College seems to be the easy way to get a job. But this isn’t the case at all! I’ve never worked so hard in my entire life. Living life is simply a hard task. In order to be successful, you are going to have to work hard, college degree or not. The most important thing is to do what’s best for yourself and to work your hardest at whatever you choose.

Five years from now, this season in your life is going to be summarized in one or two sentences. What do you want those one or two sentences to be?

About chall29

Photographer from Northwest Arkansas pursuing degrees in Print Journalism and Speech Communication at Arkansas Tech University.
This entry was posted in Blog Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

