Younger Than Most

I’m really good at complaining.

I was born in December in Maryland. In Maryland, if you turn 5 before the second semester of kindergarten, you can start. My mom had the decision of holding me back until I was 5 or starting when I was 4. So, being the smart mother that she is, she chose the latter.

Though it’s great that I’m a year ahead of everyone else my age, it’s had some setbacks. Here are a list of things I couldn’t do when my other friends could:

Wear makeup

Shave

Get my permit

Get my license

Get a car (don’t have one of those yet, actually)

See R rated movies

And when I turn 21: drink

It’s funny, I always complain about being younger, but there are so many benefits! Mostly impressing future employers, I suppose. But overall, I’m happy my mom started me early.

A mere five year old with a taunting seven year old brother.

A mere five year old with a taunting seven year old brother.

About chall29

Photographer from Northwest Arkansas pursuing degrees in Print Journalism and Speech Communication at Arkansas Tech University.
This entry was posted in Blog Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

