The Diversity of Photography

With the creation of Instagram came a wave of iPhoneographers. By taking an artsy photo of a flower, using a VSCOcam filter, you’ve got yourself a hundred likes. If you are one of these people, I’m not condemning you. I do it too! But I don’t consider this photography. There’s a lot more that goes into photography than just snapping a cool photo.

I’ve been pursuing photography for 8 years now. When I started out, I used a small point-and-shoot camera and took photos of nature. A few years down the road, my parents surprised me with a Canon Rebel XS, which is a DSLR (one of those fancy large black cameras) but not a high end one. During my sophomore year of high school, I started a business. I wish I could show you all of my horrible photos that I once thought were incredible! I didn’t actually know how to use my camera if it wasn’t on automatic settings. Though I was improving every day, I didn’t have actual control over my camera. This went on until last semester when I decided to take a photography class. In the course of three months, I learned all the technicalities of photography.

There are a lot of things that you have to think about when you are taking a picture. Aperture controls the amount of light let in, also known as the depth of field. The shutter speed controls how long the shutter stays open, or how much data is recorded. There are so many different effects that you can achieve. If you leave the shutter open for a long time, you record more movement. If the shutter is open for a split second, everything looks frozen in time. The lower the aperture, the blurrier the background. The higher the aperture, the more in focus the background is. There are an infinite number of ways to take the same photo, which makes it even more challenging! I’ve only just brushed the surface of understanding the vastness of it.

During every photoshoot, I think that I’m doing a fantastic job. But afterwards when I’m looking at the photos on my computer, I find ten things I could have done better. But that’s the beauty of photography! Right when you think you’ve mastered it, you get a dose of reality and get to learn even more.

About chall29

Photographer from Northwest Arkansas pursuing degrees in Print Journalism and Speech Communication at Arkansas Tech University.
This entry was posted in Blog Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

