Unfollowing the mindset

You open up your phone to search for someone on Facebook to show your friend. To your surprise, there is an icon that says “Add Friend.” When did they unfriend you? What did you do wrong?

Unfollowing and unfriending on social media can ruin friendships. It’s become the most dramatic thing that can happen in a person’s life. But why?

In our generation it’s not hard to see the obsession we have with technology. Social media is our best friend; we tell it everything. Last year, I got a job offer, and I told Facebook before I told my own mother. There’s something wrong with that.

CLAUDIA HALL/THE ARKA TECH:

We put all of our worth in social media. There are such thing as apps that tell you who unfollowed you, who you aren’t following and who isn’t following you back. It seems like the number of followers you have acts as a scale of how cool you are. The more followers you have, the more likes you get.

I used to be so envious of a group of girls at my school who all had more than 2,000 followers on every social media site. They received at least 200 likes on every photo, and there I was with a mere twenty. What was I doing wrong?

In the past few years, I have gained followers because of my photography. When I post an iPhone photo with my friends, I don’t get many likes. It’s extremely hard to not let that get to me. I have fallen into the mindset that likes determine my worth.

So where does that leave me? I could care and post what my followers want to see or I could remember that it is a virtual world inside of a screen. I choose the latter. I refuse to get sucked into this generation of technology and shallowness. The world went round without me on social media, and it will continue to turn if I delete my apps for a few months.

This mindset will not last. Social media consumes my thoughts and feelings. It is a wonderful, horrible thing. But I won’t give in. This resistance is a constant battle but it is a worthy cause.

About chall29

Photographer from Northwest Arkansas pursuing degrees in Print Journalism and Speech Communication at Arkansas Tech University.
This entry was posted in Blog Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

